Jury & Awards


The votes have been counted, the results are in!

🏆Winner of the Audience Award for Best Feature is Indebted to All Women (María Lobo, Roi Guitián, 2019)

🏆Winner of the Competition Jury Award is Dying for Gold (Catherine Meyburgh, Richard Pakleppa, 2019)

🏆Winner of the Young Critics Award is Dafa Metti (Tal Amiran, 2020)

🥈Runner up of the Young Critics Award is Rebel (Pier-Phillipe Chevigny, 2019)

Congratulations to the winners and a massive thank you to all filmmakers who participated in our festival!


Each year, the Jury Award will be given to a film that showcases a strong filmmaking vision, displays passionate story-telling, shifts cinematic boundaries, and/or presents subjects with groundbreaking effects.

Next to the Jury Award there is also the Audience Award.

Discover this year’s Jury members below:

Yan Ting Yuen 

Yan Ting Yuen is a Chinese-Dutch filmmaker and screenwriter, originally from Hong Kong, based in Amsterdam. She is an award-winning documentary filmmaker, specialized in hybrid forms of filmmaking. Her films have been aired by national and international television channels, and have among others premiered and screened at Sundance Film Festival, Le FIFA in Montreal, IDFA, IFFR, and Melbourne Film Festival.


Chris Belloni

Chris Belloni (1980) is a documentary filmmaker, producer and director of the International Queer & Migrant Film Festival, which he initiated in 2015. His films screened at film festivals worldwide. In 2018, he initiated LGBT & arts related projects in Azerbaijan and in the Western Balkans region.  In 2020 he launched a multiple year project on activism and human rights in the Caribbean region. Recently, he was juror at Teddy Award 2020, the award for best queer film at the Berlinale. From September 2021 he will be in charge of Supernova Cinema, an alternative cinema space in the center of Amsterdam.

Ray Blinker

Ray Blinker is a creative consultant, producer, and advisory board member. He is Chief Talent Officer at TulsaStudios Film & TV and IndieGo, an incubator for filmmakers, and a board member at VENZO volunteer organization Amsterdam. He studied film directing and production at the Institute for Film Television & Media Arts in New York and Magazine Publishing at NOTU in the Netherlands. As Publisher he has published the Cross-Cultural glossy magazine Roof. As a Creative Artist manager, he has coached numerous young writers, film and television makers internationally. 

INTRODUCING: Young Critics Award

This year, we have a new category for the awards. Selected young students will award the Young Critics Award to the Competition Shorts. 

2020 HoFF Juryleden // Jury members

Dana Linssen
Credits: © Geert Snoeijer 

Dana Linssen

Aramis Gonzalez
Credits: © Fernando Barrientos

Aramis Garcia Gonzalez

Credits: ©Cyrus Esfandiari

Cyrus Esfandiari

2020 HoFF Jury Rapport

2020 HoFF Bekroonde film // Award winning films

The Ashram Children (2019)

Jury & Audience Award winner for best feature film The Ashram Children

I am Fatou (2019)

Jury Award winner for best short film I am Fatou

Nobu (2018)

Audience Award winner for best short film Nobu

Wild Grass

A special mention by the jury for the short film Wild Grass.

Don't Burst My Bubble (2019)

A special mention by the jury for the short film Don’t Burst My Bubble.

%d bloggers liken dit: